We use cookies to improve your experience on our Website. We need cookies to continuously improve the services, to enable certain features and when embedding services or content of third parties, such as video player. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. We use different types of cookies. You can personalize your cookie settings here:

Show detail settings
Please find more information in our privacy statement.

There you may also change your settings later.

Comprehensive Pneumology Center Munich (CPC-M) - So that lung diseases dissolve into thin air

Comprehensive Pneumology Center Munich (CPC-M)

So that lung diseases dissolve into thin air

Four strong partners from clinical practice and science united in the fight against chronic diseases of the lung

Lung made of silicone, model

The extent of chronic diseases of the lungs is still underestimated. In contrast to cardiovascular or metabolic diseases, which have been the subject of intensive research, we still know very little about the development of many respiratory diseases. At the same time, the number of diseases such as asthma, COPD or lung cancer continues to rise. In Europe, lung diseases are in second place in terms of prevalence, deaths and costs (Bösch, Lunge und Atemwege, Springer) –
after cardiovascular diseases.

The aim of the CPC-M is therefore to explore new possibilities for the diagnosis and clinical treatment of chronic lung diseases. Our translational, interdisciplinary approach ensures that the results of our basic research reach the patient as quickly as possible – thus contributing to better treatment and recovery.

Researcher at CPC-M

Example COPD. Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease has become a widespread disease. It is the third largest cause of death in the world – and the trend is rising. One of the main causes is smoking, which is why it is also called smoker's lung. But why do more and more non-smokers get COPD?

We do not know that exactly yet – but we want to find out.

 

The CPC-M combines four renowned partners
from research and clinical practice:

[Translate to Englisch:] Helmholtz Zentrum München, Logo
[Translate to Englisch:] Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Logo
[Translate to Englisch:] Klinikum der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Logo
[Translate to Englisch:] Asklepios Klinikum Gauting, Logo

Director DZL Site Munich (CPC-M)

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Erika von Mutius

Dr. von Haunersches Kinderspital
Ludwig Maximilians Universität
Lindwurmstrasse 4, 80337 München

Tel.: +49 (0)89 - 4400-57 897
Erika.von.Mutius(at)med.lmu.de

 

Administrative Coordination CPC-M

Comprehensive Pneumology
Center Munich (CPC-M)

Helmholtz Zentrum München
Max-Lebsche-Platz 31
81377 München

Franziska Hauptkorn
Tel.: +49 (0)89 - 3187-4753
hauptkorn(at)helmholtz-muenchen.de

We use cookies to improve your experience on our Website. We need cookies to continuously improve the services, to enable certain features and when embedding services or content of third parties, such as video player. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. We use different types of cookies. You can personalize your cookie settings here:

Show detail settings
Please find more information in our privacy statement.

There you may also change your settings later.

Comprehensive Pneumology Center München (CPC-M) - Damit sich Lungenkrankheiten in Luft auflösen

Comprehensive Pneumology Center München (CPC-M)

Damit sich Lungenkrankheiten in Luft auflösen

Vier starke Partner aus klinischer Praxis und Wissenschaft vereint im Kampf gegen chronische Krankheiten der Lunge

Lunge aus Silikon, Modell

Das Ausmaß chronischer Krankheiten der Lunge wird immer noch unterschätzt. Im Gegensatz zu den recht intensiv erforschten Herz-Kreislauf- oder Stoffwechselerkrankungen wissen wir über viele Entstehungsprozesse bei Atemwegserkrankungen noch wenig. Gleichzeitig steigt die Zahl der Krankheiten wie Asthma, COPD oder Lungenkrebs weiter an. In Europa stehen Lungenkrankheiten an zweiter Stelle, was Verbreitung, Todesfälle und Kosten angeht (Bösch, Lunge und Atemwege, Springer) – nach den Herzkreislauf-Erkrankungen.

Das CPC-M hat es sich deswegen zum Ziel gesetzt, neue Möglichkeiten zur Diagnose und klinischen Therapie chronischer Krankheiten der Lunge zu erforschen. Unser translationaler, interdisziplinärer Ansatz garantiert dabei, dass die Ergebnisse unserer Grundlagenforschung möglichst schnell beim Patienten landen – und so zu einer besseren Behandlung und Genesung beitragen.

Forschung am CPC-M, Foto

Beispiel COPD. Die chronisch obstruktive Lungenerkrankung muss inzwischen als Volkskrankheit definiert werden. Sie liegt weltweit bei den Todesursachen an dritter Stelle – Tendenz steigend. Eine Hauptursache ist das Rauchen, weswegen sie auch Raucherlunge genannt wird. Aber warum erkranken auch immer mehr Nichtraucher an COPD?
Das wissen wir noch nicht genau – wollen es aber herausfinden.

Helmholtz Zentrum München, Logo
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Logo
Klinikum der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Logo
Asklepios Klinikum Gauting, Logo

Direktorin DZL-Standort München (CPC-M)

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Erika von Mutius

Dr. von Haunersches Kinderspital
Ludwig Maximilians Universität
Lindwurmstrasse 4, 80337 München

Tel.: +49 (0)89 - 4400-57 897
Erika.von.Mutius(at)med.lmu.de

CPC-M-Standortkoordination

Comprehensive Pneumology
Center (CPC-M)

Helmholtz Zentrum München
Max-Lebsche-Platz 31
81377 München

Dr. Antje Brand
Tel.: +49 (0)89 - 3187-4698
antje.brand(at)helmholtz-muenchen.de

Franziska Hauptkorn
Tel.: +49 (0)89 - 3187-4753
hauptkorn(at)helmholtz-muenchen.de

Wir verwenden Cookies um Ihnen den Besuch der Webseite so angenehm wie möglich zu machen. Wir benötigen Cookies um die Dienste ständig zu verbessern, bestimmte Features zu ermöglichen und wenn wir Dienste bzw. Inhalte Dritter einbetten, wie beispielsweise den Videoplayer. Durch die Nutzung unserer Webseite stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies zu. Wir verwenden unterschiedliche Arten von Cookies. Hier haben Sie die Möglichkeit, Ihre Cookie-Einstellungen zu personalisieren:

Einstellung anzeigen.
In unserer Datenschutzerklärung finden Sie weitere Informationen.

Dort können Sie Ihre Cookie-Einstellungen jederzeit ändern.