We use cookies to improve your experience on our Website. We need cookies to continuously improve the services, to enable certain features and when embedding services or content of third parties, such as video player. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. We use different types of cookies. You can personalize your cookie settings here:

Show detail settings
Please find more information in our privacy statement.

There you may also change your settings later.

German Center for Lung Research - Together against chronic diseases of the lungs

German Center for Lung Research

Together against chronic diseases of the lungs

Bundled excellence in five sites

graphic of chronic lung diseases

 

The function of the lung in the respiratory system is to get oxygen from the air into the blood and perform gas exchange. If the interaction in the pulmonary circulation or in the bronchi is disturbed, life-threatening diseases develop – a trend which has been on the rise for decades. Our lifestyle and environmental influences are increasing the incidence of lung diseases, a comparatively new and great challenge for research and medicine.

The Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) therefore supports the German Center for Lung Research, DZL. In this network, five lung research sites have joined forces with a total of 28 institutes of basic research, university medicine and large lung clinics. The doctors and scientists of this nationwide research network shall develop new ways of diagnosing, treating and preventing lung diseases. The basic research of scientists and the treatment of patients in the clinics go hand in hand.

The DZL conducts research on the following diseases:

•    asthma and allergies
•    chronic obstructive lung disease (COPD)
•    cystic fibrosis
•    acute lung damage and pneumonia
•    interstitial lung diseases
•    pulmonary hypertension
•    severe lung disease in the terminal stage
•    lung cancer

The German Center for Lung Research was founded on November 14, 2011. A total of EUR 70 million was made available for its establishment in 2011-2015 and EUR 130 million for the years 2016-2020. The Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)  provides 90 % of the funding, the respective federal states (Länder) 10%.

Find out more about the German Center for Lung Research and its other sites on the DZL website.

In addition to our institute, the Comprehensive Pneumology Center Munich, the following sites belong to the DZL:

Graphic of DZL-sites in germany

Airway Research Center North (ARCN)

Biomedical Research in Endstage and Obstructive Lung Diseases Hannover (BREATH)

Universities of Giessen & Marburg Lung Center (UGMLC)

Translational Lung Research Center Heidelberg (TLRC)

Deutsches Zentrum für Lungenforschung e. V.
(German Center for Lung Research)

Aulweg 130
35392 Gießen

Tel.:+49 (0) 641 99-46718
Fax: +49 (0) 641 99-42419

contact(at)dzl.de

We use cookies to improve your experience on our Website. We need cookies to continuously improve the services, to enable certain features and when embedding services or content of third parties, such as video player. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. We use different types of cookies. You can personalize your cookie settings here:

Show detail settings
Please find more information in our privacy statement.

There you may also change your settings later.

Deutsches Zentrum für Lungenforschung - Gemeinsam gegen chronische Krankheiten der Lunge

Deutsches Zentrum für Lungenforschung

Gemeinsam gegen chronische Krankheiten der Lunge

Gebündelte Exzellenz an fünf Standorten

Grafische Übersicht über die vom DZL erforschten Lungenkrankheiten

 

Die Lunge ist unser Luftspender, unser Sauerstoff-Austauschmotor. Wird das Zusammenspiel im Lungenkreislauf oder in den Bronchien gestört, entstehen lebensbedrohliche Krankheiten – und zwar seit Jahrzehnten immer mehr. Unser Lebensstil wie auch Umwelteinflüsse lassen die Zahl der Erkrankungen steigen, eine vergleichsweise neue und große Herausforderung für Forschung und Medizin.

Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) unterstützt deswegen das Deutsche Zentrum für Lungenforschung, DZL. In diesem Verbund haben sich fünf Lungenforschungsstandorte mit insgesamt 28 Instituten der Grundlagenforschung, die Universitätsmedizin und große Lungenkliniken zusammengeschlossen. Die Ärzte und Wissenschaftler dieses bundesweiten Forschungsverbundes sollen neue Wege für Diagnose, Therapie und Prävention von Lungenerkrankungen entwickeln. Die Grundlagenforschung von Wissenschaftlern und die Behandlung der Patienten in den Kliniken gehen dabei Hand in Hand.

Das DZL forscht an folgenden Krankheiten:

  • Asthma und Allergien
  • chronisch obstruktive Lungenerkrankung (COPD)
  • Mukoviszidose / Zystische Fibrose
  • akute Lungenschäden und Lungenentzündung (Pneumonie)
  • interstitielle Lungenerkrankungen
  • Lungenhochdruck
  • schwere Lungenerkrankungen im Endstadium
  • Lungenkrebs

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Lungenforschung wurde am 14.11.2011 gegründet. Für seinen Aufbau wurden 2011-2015 insgesamt 70 Mio. € zur Verfügung gestellt, für die Jahre 2016-2020 sind es 130 Mio. €. Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) übernimmt 90 % der finanziellen Förderung, die jeweiligen Standort-Bundesländer 10 %.

Mehr über das Deutsche Zentrum für Lungenforschung und seine anderen Standorte erfahren Sie auf der DZL-Website.

Neben unserem Institut, dem Comprehensive Pneumology Center Munich, gehören dem DZL folgende Standorte an:

Grafische Darstellung der DZL-Standorte in Deutschland

Airway Research Center North (ARCN)

Biomedical Research in Endstage and Obstructive Lung Diseases Hannover (BREATH)

Universities of Giessen & Marburg Lung Center (UGMLC)

Translational Lung Research Center Heidelberg (TLRC)

Deutsches Zentrum für Lungenforschung e. V.
Aulweg 130
35392 Gießen

Tel.:+49 (0) 641 99-46718
Fax: +49 (0) 641 99-42419


contact(at)dzl.de

Wir verwenden Cookies um Ihnen den Besuch der Webseite so angenehm wie möglich zu machen. Wir benötigen Cookies um die Dienste ständig zu verbessern, bestimmte Features zu ermöglichen und wenn wir Dienste bzw. Inhalte Dritter einbetten, wie beispielsweise den Videoplayer. Durch die Nutzung unserer Webseite stimmen Sie der Nutzung von Cookies zu. Wir verwenden unterschiedliche Arten von Cookies. Hier haben Sie die Möglichkeit, Ihre Cookie-Einstellungen zu personalisieren:

Einstellung anzeigen.
In unserer Datenschutzerklärung finden Sie weitere Informationen.

Dort können Sie Ihre Cookie-Einstellungen jederzeit ändern.